Splatter Butterfly

19Jun10

This painting gave me some trouble. I started it a few months ago, and then it just sat. And sat. And sat some more. Finally, I just had to build up the determination to sit down and finish it. I think what was holding me back so much was that I didn’t have the patience to finish the details on the wings. All of the symmetrical lines and shapes were driving me nuts. I decided instead to go super loose with it, and I’m in love with the results!

I’ve used a bunch of splatter again 🙂

Here I’ve got a sketch going and am starting to paint the black background:

Getting a bright yellow base for the butterfly wings:

Here is where I got stuck:

And here is where I finished. I let myself be free and expressive and kept the colors really bright:

A detail:

This piece is going to appear in an upcoming show “Birds, Bugs & Brews” in Salem, Oregon. The opening reception is Saturday, September 4th. Stay tuned for more details!

No Responses Yet to “Splatter Butterfly”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

