La Bella Sera – A Sneak Peek

04May10

This is a 18″ x 24″ painting I’ve been working on for the last few weeks. It is in response to a call to artists, so I’m going to be submitting it to a group show soon.

This is one of the sketches where I worked out the composition:

Here are my first marks on the canvas. It is going to be a crow standing on a pile of newspapers. You’ll recognize the crow’s pose from some of the crow studies I’ve posted before.

Here you can see I’m getting the form of the newspapers roughed in. I used acrylic for most of the work:

Here I started layering color for the background:

At this stage I’m getting pretty close to being finished with the newspapers. I knew I wanted to add some more typographic details and color but I was pretty happy with them all-in-all:

And finally, here is the painting close to being finished. The oils are still very wet. I have re-painted his feet because I wasn’t happy how they were looking before:

I have added color in the newspapers and really flushed out the crow. One of my last steps was adding thick oil paint to define the crow’s feathers and some of the darkest areas in the newspapers.

Stay tuned for final photos once it a bit more dry (a couple weeks at least) and I will also go in to detail about the concept for the piece.

3 Responses to “La Bella Sera – A Sneak Peek”

  1. 1 Stephen A.

    Love this one Verity! The detail shots are great. Super cool to see it evolve. Keep em commin!

  2. 2 Jill

    This is awesome! I love the detail in the newspapers and the crow’s expression is great too. It’s really cool to see the process! Can’t wait to see the final final painting and hear the story behind this. 🙂

  3. 3 Jamie G

    Wow I just love this, I’m so impressed!


Leave a Reply

