Three Beetle Buddies

24Apr10

Here is a sneak peek at three small-ish paintings I’m just about finished with. They are all in acrylic which I’m really liking at the moment. I kept some of it really watery (especially in the backgrounds) so there are drippy and watercolor-esque elements.

The first is a technically a weevil. Here is the sketch I started with:

Here is the (almost) finished painting. Jack (My Husband) just pointed out that I didn’t paint one of his legs. Ha! Still some work to do. I might simplify the background a bit. It might be too distracting.

The second guy has some gnarly pincers:

And here is the third. I’m really digging the oval canvases. I did another painting (a butterfly) on an oval, but it is an oil and is still drying.

I’m using a moss green color for the backgrounds which originated in this large painting I’m working on (stay tuned it is almost finished!) I liked the color so much I wanted to use it in these small pieces. They are all around the 5×7 size. I’ll be taking better quality photos and listing them on my Etsy shop later. They’ll probably be hanging in Salem, OR. soon as well.

No Responses Yet to “Three Beetle Buddies”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

